home background planning research policies documents

planning overview


partners & participants

participating jurisdictions

reviewers of the hcp

steering committee
meeting notes



erosion & sedimentation control technical committee

The Erosion and Sedimentation Control Technical Committee was convened to provide recommendations for improving E&S management as part of the Etowah Aquatic HCP. The goal of all E&S control programs is superficially quite simple: keep dirt out of streams. In practice, however, this goal is very difficult to achieve. The approach of the Etowah Aquatic HCP E&S Control Technical Committee was to identify the best practices among the jurisdictions of the Etowah Basin and develop these into a "Standard Operating Procedure" for all participating counties and municipalities, in order to bring all jurisdictions to a higher level of erosion and sedimentation control. 

committee members

Name Affiliation

Kerry Benson

Mill Creek Environmental

Wilson Borden

Georgia Erosion Control Center

Cleve Boutwell

Boutwell Engineering

Rodney Buckingham

Pickens County

Aaron Buckner

Cherokee County

Garland Cooper

City of Roswell

Steve Dempsey

Forsyth County

Kevin Flanagan

Lumpkin County

Buck Garner

Forsyth County

Jim Garrigus

Falling Water Inc.

Stan Hall

Cherokee County Environmental Coordinator

Dale Henderson

Bartow County

David Hire

Georgia Erosion Control Center

Renee Hoge

Forsyth County

Andy Hull

Enviro Network

Mark Hutcheson

Hutcheson Horticulture

Denea Hutchinson

Capital Custom Homes

Dexter Jones

Lake Allatoona Preservation Authority

Matt Jordan

Mill Creek Environmental

Ken Keating

JK Builders

Eric Martin

Biohabitats Inc.

Bobby McCurdy

Dawson County

Louise McPherson


Geoff Morton

Cherokee County

Gary Mullinix

City of Canton

Joe Padilla

KB Homes

Tom Page

Four Seasons Properties

Kenny Phelps

Cherokee County

Paul Rose

Mactec Engineering

Jimmy Sanders

City of Roswell

Jim Spotts

Southeast Environmental Consultants

Steve Turner

City of Kennesaw

Cissy Yang

Falling Water Inc.

committee staff

Tim Carter

River Basin Center (UGA Institute of Ecology)

Megan Hagler

River Basin Center (UGA Institute of Ecology)

Curt Gervich Etowah Aquatic HCP Outreach Coordinator

committee reports & documents

Standard Operating Procedure for Erosion & Sedimentation Control and Grading Ordinance, July 13, 2006, updated April 2007 (PDF)

Erosion & Sedimentation Control and Grading Ordinance Fact Sheet (PDF)


For more information:
Eric Prowell, Hydrologist
USFWS, Georgia Ecological Services
105 West Park Drive, Suite D.
Athens GA 30606
(706) 613-9493