home background planning research policies documents

planning overview


partners & participants

participating jurisdictions

reviewers of the hcp

steering committee
meeting notes



stormwater & better site design technical committee

The Stormwater/BSD technical committee was convened to develop a model stormwater management ordinance and site design guidelines for residential, commercial and industrial development that would minimize and mitigate impacts on the imperiled species covered by the HCP. The guidelines and ordinance are based on research into the effects of urbanization on aquatic ecosystems, the effectiveness of stormwater best management practices, and low impact development policies from across the nation. They emphasize on-site infiltration rather than conveyance of stormwater off the site. Because several jurisdictions in the Etowah watershed are part of the Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District, the HCP model ordinance was designed to meet (and exceed) the MNGWPD model ordinance minimum requirements. The model ordinance includes a section on runoff limits for Priority Areas.

committee members

Name Affiliation

Michelle Beesten

Forsyth County

Charlie Bostwick

John Wieland Homes and Neighborhoods

Aaron Buckner

Cherokee County Engineering

Melissa Casteel

City of Canton Planning & Zoning

Jim Garrigus

Falling Waters

Frank Gipson

Cobb County

Stan Hall

Cherokee County

Tiffannie Hill

Georgia Mountains RDC

David Hire

Georgia Erosion Control Center

Mark Hutcheson

Hutcheson Horticultural

Renee Hoge

Forsyth County Engineering

Dana Johnson

City of Marietta

Joe Kelly

Pickens County Builders Association

Scott Leonard

The Landon Group

Larry Lusk

LRL Construction

Dean Meyers

CSC General Contracting

Audra Miller

Forsyth County Planning & Zoning

Diane Minick

Upper Etowah River Alliance

Mark Mink

Rindt-McDuff Associates

Geoff Morton

Cherokee County

Ken Patton

Emerald Development

Cary Rhodes

Rhodes Engineering

Michael Ross

Ross Consulting Engineers, Holly Springs

Mike Smith

Shaw Industrial

Candace Stoughton

The Nature Conservancy

Roy Taylor

Architect, Cherokee County

Michael Tuller

Cobb County Planning & Zoning

Lynn Tully

Dawson County

Steve Turner

City of Kennesaw

Ron Wikle

Wikle Land Surveying

committee staff

Erin Dreelin

River Basin Center (UGA Institute of Ecology)

Julia Reed

River Basin Center (UGA Institute of Ecology)

Bill Bumback River Basin Center (UGA Institute of Ecology)

committee reports & documents

Technical Committee Report: Stormwater Management Policy including the Runoff Limits Program, September 2006, updated August 2007 (PDF)

Better Site Design Guidelines and Checklist (PDF)

Stormwater Facility Maintenance Problems and Proposed Solutions, October 2005

HCP Stormwater Fact Sheet (PDF)

HCP Better Site Design Fact Sheet for Developers (PDF)

HCP Better Site Design Fact Sheet for Local Government Officials (PDF)



For more information:
Eric Prowell, Hydrologist
USFWS, Georgia Ecological Services
105 West Park Drive, Suite D.
Athens GA 30606
(706) 613-9493